Fishmonger standard

Get in touch

Interested in our

Fishmongers often have the broadest range of skills of any job role in the seafood industry, making them highly valued employees. The Level 2 Fishmonger Apprenticeship Standard equips learners with the skills needed in a modern fishmonger business today. Typically, it takes 18-24 months to complete.


There are 3 components to the apprenticeship: the training programme, mandatory qualifications and end point assessment (EPA).

Training Programme

Apprentices will need to successfully complete the 3 mandatory standard components: core knowledge, skills and behaviours, prior to sitting their EPA. To find out more about the Fishmonger Apprenticeship see the Fishmonger Standard.

Mandatory Qualifications

  • Level 1 Mathematics
  • Level 1 English

Apprentices are also required to attempt Level 2 English and Maths before sitting their EPA, though success at this level is not compulsory.


Fishmonger End Point Assessment (EPA)

FDQ are approved by the Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA) to deliver end-point assessment for the fishmonger apprenticeship. Plans to develop EPA services for the fishmonger standard are now in progress. FDQ expects to be in position to offer these by Easter 2019 and will be working closely with the Seafood Authority to ensure the tests are compliant. This means we'll be able to offer everything from qualification registrations right through to end-point assessment. 

To find out more about the Level 2 Fishmonger Apprenticeship, FDQ Certificate in Fish and Shellfish Industry Skills or EPA, talk to one of our friendly team on 0113 3970 395 or email us at 

MM Women in Meat Industry Awards 2018


Two familiar faces to FDQ have been nominated as finalists in the Meat Management Women in Meat Industry Awards. 

Read more
View all latest

You may also be interested in: